Seduction Culture, 1960 [Poetry]

This is a poem by Marion Cohen. 

Seduction Culture, 1960

When things were finally settled between us, I mean settled for the better – the best — Jeff told me how his fraternity brothers always talked about what they did to women, how many virgins they broke, one guy said he told this girl he loved her and would she marry him? and after he broke her she excitedly said “ooo, I’m gonna go call my mother and tell her I’m engaged, she’ll be so happy” and he answered “don’t bother”, he bragged about that
and Jeff was afraid if he told me he loved me, if he said those three mini-words, it would seem like he was just trying to get me to let him break me, so he didn’t, not for close to a year, and when you’re in love a year is a long time.


Marion Deutsche Cohen’s latest poetry books are Truth and Beauty (WordTech Editions), Closer to Dying (WordTech Editions), and What I’m Wearing Today (dancing girl press – about the joys, Angsts, and politics of thrift-shopping!). Her books total 27, including Crossing the Equal Sign (Plain View Press, about the experience of math) and two controversial memoirs of spousal chronic illness. She teaches math and writing at Arcadia University in Glenside, PA, where she has developed the course Mathematics in Literature. The above-mentioned Truth and Beauty is about the interaction in that course among students and teacher. Other interests are classical piano, singing, Scrabble, thrift-shopping, four grown children, and five grands.

Leave a Reply

